The Paradiddle Challenge in Modern Drummer Magazine

Hi everybody! I wanted to share with you that I had the chance of having my latest article published in the august 2015 edition of Modern Drummer Magazine. I talk about the “Paradiddle Challenge” which is a set of exercises inspired by the drumming of Keith Carlock on the song “Chillin'” from Oz Noy’s record “Ha!”. I hope you’ll have fun going through these exercises and that they’ll help you get your drumming to the next level. Have fun practicing!

CoverAntonio ExercicesMDAugust2015 ExercicesMDAugust2015(2) TablesMatièresMDAugust2015

“The Drum Stroke Mechanics” masterclass

Hello everybody! I will be teaching a masterclass on august 1st, 3pm. The subject is what I call “The Drum Stroke Mechanics” and I’ll be talking about two techniques (The Free Stroke and the Moeller Stroke) that have been really helpful to me in getting rid of tension while playing. If you are interested, give me a shout as seats are very limited. It will be 30$ to get in. Hope to see you there!

To get in touch with me:

438-275-6357

danielbedard27@gmail.comMasterclass 1er août

Montreal Intensive Drumming Day Pictures

Hi everybody! The Montreal Intensive Drumming Day was a tremendous success. Stéphane Chamberland and myself are very happy about it! Huge thank you to Dom Famularo for sharing his energy and his usual dose of inspiration. And also a huge thank you to everybody who participated in that day.

Follow the link here to see some pictures of that special day taken by Marc-André Cloutier (lastingmotion.com):

https://www.facebook.com/media/set/?set=a.10152838615317016.1073741835.591617015&type=1&l=140b163bff

Montreal’s Intensive Drumming Day

Hi everybody, I’m very happy to share with you this new drumming event that I created with my friend, Stéphane Chamberland. Come spend a day with us where we’ll share various ideas, concepts and techniques to take your drumming to the next level. The renown teacher, Dom Famularo, will offer a master class via Skype. Definitely a day not to miss and reserve soon as seats are limited. Drum Camp Poster-2

The Drums Also Waltzes

Here’s an excerpt from the drum clinic I did on february 17th at the cégep de Drummondville. You’ll hear Max Roach’s The Drums Also Waltzes. I’m basically playing a 3/4 ostinato with my feet and then, once the basic melody is played, I try to express myself over that pattern. I hope you’ll like it.

And for those of you who might be wondering what was the song I closed my clinic with, it is The Egg by bass player extraordinaire Antoine Fafard. It can be found on his record “Ad Perpetuum” which features the drumming madness of Vinnie Colaiuta. Get it here:

http://www.antoinefafard.com/adperpetuum.html

Antoine-Fafard-to-Release-Ad-Perpetuum

Drum clinic february 17th at cégep de Drummondville

Good news! I’ll be doing my second drum clinic at the cégep de Drummondville on february 17th. My clinic is called: “The drum stroke mechanics” and I talk about various hand technique that have been helpful to me. This event will be very special to me as the cégep de Drummondville is where I did my college studies. Big thanks to Vic Firth, Evans Drumheads and Yamaha Drums and to Philippe Brochu who helped me putting this together. Oh yeah!

corrigé

Drum clinic november 20th at Italmélodie

Hi everybody!

I’ll be doing my first drum clinic november 20th at Italmélodie, this is pretty exciting! I call this clinic “The Drum Stroke Mechanics” and I’ll share various techniques that have helped me gain in fluidity and relaxation tremendously. I’ll also play a few solos and one song. The show will start at 7 pm and the entrance is free.Slide1

 

Some News From Me

Hi everybody! It’s been quite a while since I last updated my website’s front page. Sorry about that, I’ve been quite busy musically and I’ve also became a dad, which also takes quite some time.

Last autumn, I was lucky enough to get a grant to from le conseil des arts et des lettres du Québec to go study with John Riley in New York. What an experience! Right now, I still have one more lesson with John and I can say that studying with him has been really inspiring. I strongly encourage you to go meet your idols. Talking about idols, I also got the chance to study with Dave Weckl in his “Ond Day Intensive” classes. We were 12 students picking the brain of master Dave, again, truly inspiring. Being close to the greats drummers makes you want to go to the next level.

Now, I got to go practice all the stuff I’ve been working on with John and Dave. Lots of work ahead of me.

Stay tuned because I have some cool new things coming out for me. More details soon.

With my teacher, John Riley.
With my teacher, John Riley.

AvecWeckl

Classe de maître « Les Mécaniques de La Frappe ».

Bonjour à tous! Je présenterai ma classe de maître appelée « Les Mécaniques de La Frappe » à mon studio samedi le 1er août à 15h. J’y parlerai de 2 techniques entre autres qui m’ont été fort utiles à me débarrasser de la tension dans mon jeu, le Free Stroke et le Moeller Stroke. Pour ceux qui seraient intéressé(e)s, utilisez le numéro de téléphone ci-dessous ou écrivez moi un courriel. Le prix d’entrée sera de 30$ et les places seront très limitées. Merci et au plaisir.

Pour informations:

438-275-6357

danielbedard27@gmail.com

 

Masterclass 1er août

Photos de la Journée Intensive de Batterie

Bonjour à tous, la Journée Intensive de Batterie à Montréal à été un grand succès! Stéphane Chamberland et moi-même en sommes très fier. Un gros merci à Dom Famularo pour son énergie ainsi que sa dose habituelle d’inspiration. Un gros merci aussi à tous les participants.

Suivez le liens ci-dessous pour vois les photos de la journée prises par Marc-André Cloutier (lastingmotion.com):

https://www.facebook.com/media/set/?set=a.10152838615317016.1073741835.591617015&type=1&l=140b163bff

 

Journée Intensive de Batterie à Montréal

Bonjour à tous, je suis très heureux de partager avec vous ce nouvel évènement de batterie que j’ai créé avec mon collègue, le batteur Stéphane Chamberland. Venez passer une journée complète avec nous où nous partagerons avec vous diverses idées, techniques et concepts pour prendre votre jeu et l’amener à un autre niveau. Le pédagogue de renommée internationale, Dom Famularo, fera une classe de maître via Skype. C’est définitivement un évènement à ne pas manquer et faites vite car les places sont limitées.Drum Camp Poster-2

The Drums Also Waltzes

Voici un extrait de la clinique de batterie du 17 février dernier au cégep de Drummondville. J’y joue The Drum Also Waltzes de Max Roach. L’idée est de garder le rythme en 3/4 avec les pieds et de jouer des phrases musicales par-dessus. J’espère que vous apprécierez.

Pour ceux qui se demandent quelle est la pièce que je joue à la fin de la clinique, il s’agit de The Egg d’Antoine Fafard. La pièce se retrouve sur son album Ad Perpetuum sur lequel vous entendrez le jeu incroyable du grand Vinnie Colaiuta. Chaudement recommandé:

http://www.antoinefafard.com/adperpetuum.html

Antoine-Fafard-to-Release-Ad-Perpetuum

Clinique de batterie au cégep de Drummondville le 17 février

Bonne nouvelle! Je ferai ma 2ème clinique de batterie au cégep de Drummondville le 17 février 2015 prochain. Ma clinique s’intitule : « Les mécaniques de la frappe » et j’y partage différentes techniques de mains qui m’ont été fort utiles. Ce sera particulièrement spécial pour moi car c’est au cégep de Drummondville que j’ai fait mes études collégiales. Un gros merci à Vic Firth, Evans Drumheads et Yamaha Drums pour le soutient ainsi que Philippe Brochu qui m’a aidé à mettre l’événement en place. Yé!

corrigé

Clinique de batterie le 20 novembre prochain chez Italmélodie

Allô à tous!

Je voulais vous annoncer que je donnerai ma première clinique de batterie le 20 novembre prochain chez Italmélodie. Je l’appelle « Les mécaniques de la frappe » car j’y partagerai des techniques qui m’ont beaucoup aidé à gagner en fluidité et souplesse à la batterie. J’y jouerai aussi quelques solos ainsi qu’une pièce. L’entrée est gratuite et ça débute à 19h.Slide1

Quelques nouvelles

Allô à tous! Il y a un bout de temps que je n’avais pas fait de mise à jour sur la page principale de mon site web. Et bien, j’ai été pas mal occupé musicalement tout en étant un père à la maison.

J’ai eu la chance de recevoir une bourse du conseil des arts et des lettres du Québec pour aller étudier avec John Riley à New York. Quelle expérience!! Au moment où j’écris ces lignes, il me reste encore un cours à avoir et je peux dire que ma rencontre avec John m’a beaucoup inspiré. Je recommande à tous les batteurs de rencontrer leurs idoles. En parlant d’idoles, j’ai aussi eu la chance d’aller faire le « One Day Intensive » avec Dave Weckl lors de son passage à Montréal en mai dernier. Nous étions 12 élèves à travailler avec lui et ce fut encore une fois, une expérience unique. Côtoyer ces grands batteurs ne peut que faire ressortir le meilleur en vous.

Ceci étant dit, je dois maintenant aller pratiquer tout le matériel que j’ai vu avec John et Dave.

Restez à l’écoute car il y a plusieurs trucs qui s’en viennent pour moi dans les mois à venir. Plus de détails bientôt.

With my teacher, John Riley.
With my teacher, John Riley.

AvecWeckl